Want new rad music and music news? It's here.

Gimme Your Answers: An Interview w/ Perry Manning

Perry ManningBedworth’s Perry Manning is lovely. Come to think of it, Perry was one of the first artists we ever featured in an AMBY playlist. Feels like ages ago when we discovered this talent. The best part about Perry’s music for us is how his heart is put into every song of his. From the first song we ever heard by him, My Arrogant Ignorant Side, to the classic Loner with a Boner, he can literally write about any subject matter to create a great tune. We’re glad to share our interview with everyone, so have a read where we talk smashing guitars, busy plans for 2013, and his obsession with coronation chicken!

AMBY: Hey Perry! How are you doing?

Perry Manning: I’m sound as a pound thanks

AMBY: How would you describe Perry Manning’s sound to those unfamiliar with you music?

Perry Manning: Honest acoustic sing a long medleys.

AMBY: My Arrogant Ignorant Side is a great song, what is the story behind it?

Perry Manning: Sometimes I think I get mistaken for being arrogant or ignorant, but it’s because I’m shy and not very good at talking to people I rarely know, and at times people think I’m miserable but that’s just the way my face lies but inside I’m having the time of my life in my own little world.

AMBY: What is the funniest thing to happen to you at one of your gigs?

Perry Manning: Erm one of them may be when I smashed my guitar up at the end of a set at this festival and the strings cut into my hand and I lost quite a bit of blood.

AMBY: If you could create a law that everyone could follow, what would it be?

Perry Manning: There could be quite a few useful laws I would like in place but one of the important ones would be every human on this earth dedicate at least one hour of their day to Alan Partridge.

AMBY: Who would your dream gig be with?

Perry Manning: Noel Gallagher.

AMBY: One of your recent recordings Mother will be released as a single in aid of Cancer Research UK. Which we think is fantastic of you Perry. How did you get involved in this?

Perry Manning: My Manager Dayne sent them the track and the idea of it. They liked the concept of the song, and now hopefully when we get it all sorted people will buy it and the money will go to the charity.

AMBY: What song could you live without ever hearing again?

Perry Manning: Tough question, there’s quite a few of those considering how much junk the public are being forced to consume through the radio and that X Factor nonsense, I’m gonna have to go with whatever the X Factor show releases this year as their Christmas song.

AMBY: What do you have planned for this year?

Perry Manning: Got a couple of festivals lined up in the summer. I’ve just been writing heavily the last few weeks and got some new songs which I’m gonna be recording over the next couple of months. As well as the charity single, I’ll be releasing another single with a music video. Then the album which has not been titled yet will be released later on this year.

AMBY: What has you excited for 2013?

Perry Manning: The answer to the previous question ha ha.

AMBY: And lastly, what’s something about Perry Manning that nobody knows yet?

Perry Manning: I have an obsession with coronation chicken.

***

Keep your eyes open for Perry’s upcoming Play AMBY A Song! And thank you Perry, for giving us your answers!

Facebook // Twitter // SoundCloud //

Alicia Atout

Tagged as: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

