Want new rad music and music news? It's here.

Gimme Your Answers: An Interview w/ Riots

RiotsSome of my favourite gig memories come from watching Pegasus Bridge play so when I heard former drummer Tom Lynam was working a new solo acoustic project I decided a catch was well overdue.

AMBY:  As a drummer, guitarist, singer and songwriter you’ve played in bands such as Keiko and Pegasus Bridge what have you been up to lately?

TL: I’ve completed a higher diploma in drums and The Academy of Contemporary Music in Guildford and I’ve been playing drums with a few different bands. Currently planning Riots, an acoustic rock singer songwriter project with the potential to turn into a band, which is exciting.

AMBY: Which songs of yours are your favourite?

TL: I don’t think I can pick one, they all mean a lot to me.

AMBY:  What was the inspiration behind your song a week for 2013?

TL: I like challenging myself musically, the song a week idea was to get me writing consistently again. I hadn’t written a song for about a year, so I thought it was a great way to get back into the swing of it again. People started to take an interest and promoters got in touch about gigs, that’s what’s led me to create Riots.

AMBY:  What’s next on the agenda? Can we expect any live shows?

TL: I’ve got an ep coming out in July, gigs confirmed are 30th May at Camden Barfly and 4th June Sound Control Manchester with more dates to follow.

AMBY:  Which artists have you been listening to lately?

TL: I’ve just bought Anthony Green’s album, he has such an amazing voice. City and Colour’s albums are incredible. This year has been great for new music with the Biffy Clyro and Bring Me The Horizon albums, both of which I’ve enjoyed.

AMBY: What’s the best gig you’ve been too?

TL: I’m a big fan of festivals; I took my brother Chris to Sonisphere 2011 which was great. Was nice to share seeing bands we are both passionate about together.

AMBY:  What is the funniest thing to happen at a gig you’ve played?

TL: During the Pegasus Bridge set, Callum used to do a handstand on his keyboard, I knew when it was coming so would be watching every time to see if he’d go over or through the stand, it happened a few times and was very funny. I think someone caught it on camera once and it’s now on YouTube.

AMBY: What do you think about the state of modern music?

TL: I think it’s a very exciting business to be in, so much has changed in the last 10 years, especially within the internet. An artist can sell 100,000 singles from their bedroom, which is great! Unfortunately that means nearly anyone can release music which means music fans have to search a lot harder to find good music amongst the masses of releases and music that’s available in today’s music market.

AMBY: What’s got you excited for the rest of 2013?

TL: Going to Norway, Germany, Sweden playing drums, I’ll be attending Download Festival which will be great. With Riots they’ll be another ep out later this year, some more gigs, videos….etc it’s all terribly exciting, hehe!

AMBY: Outside of music, what do you do for fun?

TL: Not a lot, my life is surrounded by music, every day! I enjoy travelling (to gigs), eating (on the way to gigs), hehe! When I go out it’s to clubs it’s to listen to music and to see live bands, I can’t escape it and wouldn’t want too.

AMBY: And lastly, tell me something about you that nobody knows… Yet!

TL: In a previous life I was a dinosaur.

***

For a limited time you can download a free copy of Help Myself by Riots:


Facebook // Twitter // Website //

You can also catch Riots live:

30/05/13 The Barfly, London
04/06/13 Sound Control Manchester
13/07/13 Meekestock 2013 Congleton

Fi Carroll @Dirtyroknroller

Leave a Reply

