Want new rad music and music news? It's here.

Gimme Your Answers: An Interview w/ Tom Odell

Tom OdellIt was a real pleasure speaking with Tom Odell last week. There was much to talk about as his debut record Long Way Down will soon be released! Tom was very sweet and gracious with his time, and took a moment out of his busy schedule to speak with AMBY over the phone. Have a look as we had a chat about his love for touring, his love for new music, and his love for English custard!

AMBY: Your debut record Long Way Down will be released next month. What are your favourite tracks off the album?

Tom Odell: I’m never a fan of my own music, to be honest with you. But I don’t know, I think every night is different and I think tonight I’m looking forward to playing Supposed to Be.

AMBY: And what was one of the best moments you had while recording the album?

Tom Odell: There’s a song called Till I Lost on the record and it was kind of one of those songs that I never expected to be on the album and then we sort of started playing it in the studio at the end of the section… It kind of all came together in an hour, and the whole song was done in a couple of hours actually, and it’s just really nice when music all falls into place without even trying.

AMBY: Great, and as we mentioned before our first question, you’re on tour right now. What’s been the highlight of the tour so far?

Tom Odell: I think the highlight has been… I mean, we played New York sort of at the start of the tour at The Bowery Ballroom. It was just such an amazing venue and I opened with a song I kind of always dreamed of opening with— I opened with New York State of Mind by Billy Joel and it just kind of worked. It was a brilliant show, one of my favourites.

AMBY: Speaking of this tour, what’s a favourite song of yours to play so far?

Tom Odell: I always love playing Hold Me, because it’s fun to play live and—

AMBY: Yes, it’s a great song!

Tom Odell: Yea thanks, that one.

AMBY: You recently did a really wicked cover of Palma Violets’ Best of Friends. Do you plan on covering any other tracks?

Tom Odell: Uhmmm, yea! Well we try to do, kind of, new covers most evenings just to sort of keep things mixed up I suppose. So yea, we always do new covers. What did we do? Ha, we did I I Love L.A. by Randy Newman and it went well; was pretty fun.

AMBY: A lot of cities! So which part of the world would you like to play that you haven’t had the chance to yet?

Tom Odell: I’m really looking forward to going to Asia; I’ve never been there and we’re going there in July. Or maybe New Zealand, I’d love to play in New Zealand because it seems like a beautiful place and I’d love to go and play there.

AMBY: And we were talking about your music, but which bands or artists have you been listening to lately?

Tom Odell: I’ve been listening to a lot of James Blake’s new album, Overgrown. It’s a brilliant album, so I’ve listened to a lot of that. What else have I been listening to? There’s this great new album by a band I’ve got supporting me in London, when we played there a few weeks called Denai Moor—who I think is really awesome—she kind of just recorded her first EP. This band called Wolf Alice who are pretty cool. I like, I listening to a lot of new music!

AMBY: Alright, and what has you excited for the rest of 2013? We know it’s been a busy first-half of the year so far!

Tom Odell: It’s kind of touring with me and just continuously touring. I’m really looking forward to it and it should be fun. I really love touring, and once you get into the swing of it you know, it’s a lot of fun so I’m looking forward to that. Also, just seeing more of the world and travelling lots. I enjoy it!

AMBY: And of course there’s the album release coming up in June, right?

Tom Odell: Yea, the album is out in June. I look forward to that being out so people know a few more of the songs and finding out what people think of it.

AMBY: We all look forward to hearing it! Well, for our very last question, what’s something about Tom Odell that nobody knows yet?

Tom Odell: I really am a big fan of… I’m a big fan of custard! Have you ever had custard before?

AMBY: No, I haven’t!

Tom Odell: It’s like an English- it’s like cream but it’s slightly nicer and has got eggs in it. Really good custard, so try custard if you can!

***

Thank you Tom Odell, for giving us your answers!

Facebook // Twitter // Website //

Alicia Atout

1 Response »

  1. I just saw him featured as Spotify’s Emerge artist:) His EP is sooo good! http://smarturl.it/SpotifyEmerge?IQid=FB

    @spotifyUSA #tomodell

Leave a Reply

