Want new rad music and music news? It's here.

Gimme Your Answers: An Interview w/ Gaz Coombes

Gaz CoombesEveryone knows Gaz Coombes from his years as the frontman for legendary group Supergrass, but you should also be fully aware of his new solo project Gaz Coombes Presents… His debut album Here Come the Bombs is packed with a slew of killer tracks, and is a treat for fans old and new. So have a look as Gaz Coombes talks electric shocks, free donuts for all, and releasing more tracks & videos!

AMBY: Hello Gaz, how have you been and what have you been up to lately?

Gaz Coombes:
I’ve just finished a great month of touring around the UK. And also writing/recording new tracks, one of which I put into the live set, which has been going down really well. I’m shooting a video for it soon…The track is called ‘One Of These Days’

AMBY: You released your debut album, the amazing Here Come the Bombs last year. What are your feelings about it now that you’ve had time to reflect on it?

Gaz Coombes:
It’s been a great year. The album was really well received & the live version has been evolving nicely over the months. So it’s definitely grown as a record in many ways & I see it as the start of a really creative period for me.

AMBY: What’s the story behind your lethal song Simulator?

Gaz Coombes: Well it came from an idea I had about a band of post apocalyptic revolutionaries (cheery stuff, I know) The lyrics just started coming & I was drawing from films that I love, that had an impact on me & just building from the main lyric ‘I’m a witness’ which I felt had real depth in its meanings..

AMBY: The new video for Break The Silence directed by your brother Charly is quite the eye-candy. Was it his idea to do the insanely cool animation?

Gaz Coombes: My kids got this art toy for Christmas last year that was basically four sheets of transparent plastic with independent UV LEDs on each sheet, lighting up, one after the other whatever was drawn on them with fluorescent pens, creating a mini animation. I loved it & kind of stole it off them, doing little animations. I showed my bro then he just scaled the whole idea up. He did an amazing job…painstaking, frame by frame stuff ! I’m really happy with it.

AMBY: Who influences you as a songwriter and musician?

Gaz Coombes: Difficult to say anyone in particular. I’m in a different place now compared to a few years ago. I tend to get inspiration from other solo artists as oppose to bands, whether it be Beck or Bowie, Jack White or James Blake. But nobody particularly influences me…when I write I try & shut things out so I can explore my own voice as much as possible.

AMBY: Which three of your songs are quintessential Gaz Coombes?

Gaz Coombes: I suppose, currently – ‘White Noise, Fanfare & Hot Fruit

AMBY: What’s the funniest thing to happen to you at a gig?

Gaz Coombes: There’s been quite a few moments over the years….mainly things like falling off stages, tripping over monitors….electric shocks…hmmm, not so funny that one ! Thankfully there’s been no ‘trousers down’ moments….yet !

AMBY: Which artists have you been listening to lately?

Gaz Coombes: Captain Beefheart…..ESG……James Blake……Yeah Yeah Yeah’s

AMBY: What do you do outside of music for fun?

Gaz Coombes: Outside of music ? what is this place ? Oh ok, stuff like – Watch movies, eat a nice restaurants, hang out with family, friends, take my dogs for walks…that usually end up at the pub !!

AMBY: What has you excited for 2013?

Gaz Coombes: Anchorman 2 !!!….oh & I’m planning to write & release more tracks & videos, kind of as they come, throughout the year…to be spontaneous & reactive with my creativity & ideas.

AMBY: If you could change one thing about the world, what would it be?

Gaz Coombes: Only one thing ? Well it would have to be – Evil doesn’t exist…..oh & free donuts for all !!

AMBY: And last but never least, what’s something about Gaz Coombes that nobody knows?

Gaz Coombes: That would be telling !!

***

Thank Gaz Coombes, for giving us your answers!

Facebook // Twitter //

Alicia Atout

Tagged as: ,

Leave a Reply

