Want new rad music and music news? It's here.

Gimme Your Answers: An Interview w/ Laura Imbruglia

Laura ImbrugliaAustralian musical fixture Laura Imbruglia has just released her third album, the delightful What A Treat. On the strength of the latest single Awoooh!, listeners will want to hear what else this album offers. With fun yet intelligent lyrics and an endearing playfulness within the melodies, the album is a pleasing romp for fans old and new. Always one for treats, AMBY spoke to Laura about Tae Kwon Do, cicadas, and Peter Hoare interrupting a gig.

AMBY: Hello Laura! Thanks for having a chat with AMBY, what have you been up to lately?

Laura Imbruglia: Thanks for having me! I’ve been working insanely long hours on various album related tasks, like making tour posters, confirming line-ups, sending CDs out to people who pre-ordered them. All the fun stuff!

AMBY: How would you describe your sound to those unfamiliar with your music?

Laura Imbruglia: Some songs are country, others are psych-rock, there’s also some smooth sounding yacht rock and Belle & Sebastianesque power pop. It’s very varied, I’d recommend you listen to it cos that’s easier than me describing it.

AMBY: You are about to release your third album What A Treat. Which tracks are your favourites?

Laura Imbruglia: Hmm, maybe “If I Ever” and the title track “What a treat”.

AMBY: What’s the story behind your splendid song ‘Awoooh!’?

Laura Imbruglia: I was just tinkering around with my loop pedal and trying to find a guitar riff that’d be easy to loop, so I could practice solo-ing over it. So I started doing the chuggy verse rhythm guitar and then the song just wrote itself. I barely had to do anything! It’s a song about wanting someone and feeling like they possibly feel the same way, but not being in a position to do anything about it.

AMBY: The video for the song looks like it was a blast to make. What was the experience like shooting it?

Laura Imbruglia: It was so much fun. I managed to convince 2 directors (Karl Siemon & Stephen Nicolazzo) to work together on it, which is no mean feat in itself, and they really put their all into it. I also am fortunate to know a bunch of amazing actors and a costume designer who agreed to take part. I put the word out for choreographers and make-up artists via Facebook and people put their hands up to work for free. It was a super fun and stressful day and I’m so grateful to everyone who was involved. We shot the whole thing in 8 hours! The clip is so silly and unique, I’m proud of it.

AMBY: What’s the most inappropriate thing you’ve ever said or done?

Laura Imbruglia: One time I was on a kids tv show and they asked me why I like cicadas so much. I told them “They have amazing lives, they’re underground for 7 years and above ground for 7 days and in that time above ground they need to focus on breeding….not that breeding isn’t fun”- it was such a weird aside to say on a kids show. Needless to say the breeding is fun line ended up on the cutting room floor.

AMBY: Which artists have you been listening to lately?

Laura Imbruglia: Sharon Van Etten, Doobie Brothers and Gothic Archies

AMBY: What’s the funniest thing to happen to you at a gig?

Laura Imbruglia: I had Peter Hoare (Newcastle’s serial pest-google him) interrupt my last gig in Newcastle. That was pretty funny.

AMBY: What is your song of the year so far?

Laura Imbruglia: Hmmm. I have no idea. You know who blew me away the other night? Fraser A. Gorman & Big Harvest. Any one of his new songs would have to be something that has been my song of the year so far.

AMBY: What has you excited for the rest of 2013?

Laura Imbruglia: Touring the album and hopefully converting new fans.

AMBY: And last but never least, what’s something about Laura Imbruglia that nobody knows?

Laura Imbruglia: I am a red belt double black tip in Tae Kwon Do and I once broke wood with a flying side kick.

***

Thank you Laura, for giving us your answers!

Facebook // Twitter // Website //

TOUR DATES:

Friday, 21st June 2013
Crown & Anchor, ADELAIDE – SA
Dual launch w/ Wiley Red Fox

Friday 28th June 2013
Boatshed, MANLY – NSW

Saturday, 29th June 2013
Goodgod SYDNEY – NSW
w/ Melodie Nelson

Sunday, 30th June 2013
Yours & Owls, WOLLONGONG – NSW  *afternoon show
w/ Melodie Nelson

Friday 5th July 2013 
Beetle Bar, BRISBANE – QLD
(solo show)

SAT JULY 13
The Tote, MELBOURNE – VIC
w/ Melodie Nelson

Yaz Atout

Tagged as: ,

Leave a Reply

