Want new rad music and music news? It's here.

Gimme Your Answers: An Interview w/ Lexy and the Kill

Lexy and the KillIn this interview AMBY learned that Lexy and the Kill are all secret geeks, have been listening to Foals on repeat, and had a hilarious conversation with some school kids. This interview is full of fun (and funny) facts we never knew about the band, so have a read to learn all about this energetic, quintet!

AMBY: Hello Lexy and the Kill, how have you been and what have you been up to lately?

Lexy and the Kill: Hi hi hi! We’re all very well. We’ve been real busy recently. Lots of rehearsing for upcoming shows and I’ve been writing lots too (Lexy typing). I also had an operation on my foot so the boys are looking after me!!!

AMBY: How would you describe your sound to those unfamiliar with your music?

Lexy and the Kill: I think rocky-indie-pop probably covers it. Something like that with a sprinkling of darkness on top.

AMBY: What’s the story behind your wonderful song We Can Dance Alone?

Lexy and the Kill: We Can Dance Alone is about unrequited love. It’s a bit of a desperate but fantastical love song. She’s been there as a friend to this guy and seen him get hurt along the way when all she wants is to be there for him as a lover. All she wants to do is to run away with him, to have him all to herself, away from everything and everybody else. Poor girl :(

AMBY: What do you have planned as far as an album release goes?

Lexy and the Kill: Hopefully by next year! I think the idea is to keep putting out singles and then launch a finished product sometime in 2014. That’s the aim at the moment!

AMBY: Which three albums changed your life?

Lexy and the Kill: Firstly, without fail, would be Pink Floyd’s Dark Side of the Moon. It was the one record which was played round and round and over and over again in our house when I was growing up. It went with us everywhere. If we’d been out and were driving home late at night, Dad would put all the windows down, cigarette going and turn on Great Gig in the Sky at full volume. He once turned off the road and drove round a field! I think Clare Torry’s vocal on that song is the best of all time. The next would be Radiohead’s In Rainbows. I’d never listened to much of their stuff before that album came out but I just think it’s so clever and so addictive and beautiful. It definitely inspired me musically. The third would probably be Regina Spektor’s fifth record she put out, Far. She’s so lyrically wonderful and those songs are SO clever, “Laughing With” always makes me cry. She’s like some ethereal being that’s not real – I googled some photos of her and I remember feeling like I’d shattered the illusion of her that I had in my head, I was like “NO!!! She’s not meant to be human!!”.

AMBY: Who would you like to be most and least stuck in an elevator with?

Lexy and the Kill: I would love to be stuck in a lift with Eminem and I think I would least like to be stuck in a lift with the ticket man who charged me £80 on the train last week.

AMBY: Which artists have you been listening to lately?

Lexy and the Kill: I’ve been listening on repeat to Foal’s new record Holy Fire which is magic.

AMBY: What’s the funniest thing to happen to you at a gig?

Lexy and the Kill: We played to a school of kids back in February this year and one of them called out, “How old are you?” I replied that I was 20. He said, “Oh, you’re too old for me then.” I told him not to worry and that age was just a number to which he shouted out from the crowd, “Yeah, and jail’s just a room”. I think he was about 8 or 9. It was quite funny.

AMBY: What is your song of the year so far?

Lexy and the Kill: I think Daft Punk and Pharrell’s Get Lucky is pretty great. Everyone else thinks it’s pretty rad too!

AMBY: What has you excited for the rest of 2013?

Lexy and the Kill: Just a load of shows and hopefully a tour by the end of summer would be super great for us!!!!

AMBY: If you had to describe each member in the band with one word, which word would define them?

Lexy and the Kill: Oh my God this is hard. Jay is neeky, Jack is chilled, Vic is smiley, Max is spacey. haha!

AMBY: And last but never least, what’s something about Lexy and the Kill that nobody knows?

Lexy and the Kill: We are all secret geeks.

***

Thank you Lexy and the Kill, for giving us your answers!

Facebook // Twitter // SoundCloud // Website //

Alicia Atout

Leave a Reply

